Skip to:

Department News for 2010

December 17
Karen Coats - ASM
Dr. Karen Coats represented the American Society for Microbiology's regional branches at the ASM Council Policy Committee meeting in Washington, DC.

December 8
Dr. Chevalier awarded mini-grant
Dr. David Chevalier received one of the 2010-11 ORED mini-grants to form a multi-disciplinary research group with the goal of developing new collaborations in "Understanding Heat Stress and Foliar Bleaching Mechanisms" in plants. - external link

December 7
Two BIO majors inducted to Society of Scholars
Two Biological Sciences majors were 2010 inductees into the College of Arts & Sciences Society of Scholars. Deani Haggerty of Biloxi and Rachel Heintz of Oswego, Illinois were among the nineteen inductees for fall 2010.

September 17
Dr. Outlaw making progress in malaria research
Dr. Diana Outlaw is collaborating on international research aimed at understanding this widespread mosquito-borne disease, which is estimated by the World Health Organization to cause 250 million cases a year and nearly one million deaths. Part of their work was published in a July 2010 issue of Science under the title "A molecular clock for malaria parasites."

August 13
Lewis Brown - SNL
Emeritus Professor Dr. Lewis R. Brown was recently awarded a grant from Sandia National Laboratories for studies into reducing atmospheric methane emissions.